Wymondham Symphony Orchestra


Click for tickets 


A Festival of Brahms


Saturday 9th July, 7pm


Tickets: £15, U18 Free, Friends £13


Book here with Trybooking 


Wymondham Symphony Orchestra is returning to Norwich with an all Brahms programme to commemorate the 125th anniversary of the composer’s death. 


The programme opens with the Tragic Overture – the much darker companion piece to the popular Academic Festival Overture. This is followed by the rarely performed Double Concerto for Violin and Cello with soloists Juan Gonzalez on violin and Ben Rogerson on cello. 

The majestic Symphony no 2 in D forms the second half of the programme. These are all wonderful works full of rich romantic themes and it was hardly surprising that Brahms was hailed as Beethoven’s true heir. 


WSO is a friendly, lively and ambitious group of musicians that plays regular concerts within the Norfolk area to much critical acclaim. They have built up an enviable reputation and are able to attract professional soloists of the highest calibre. 


The Orchestra is joined by two stunning soloists from the BBC Concert Orchestra. Juan Gonzalez was born in Venezula, and has had a global career, playing with orchestras there and in Mexico, Germany and the Britten Sinfonia in the UK. He teaches and coaches and has recordings on Deutsche Grammophon and Sony Classics to his name.  With him will be the cellist Ben Rogerson, who after studying at the Royal Academy of Music and in the USA is now in much demand playing with the London Mozart Players and the City of London Sinfonia, when he is not teaching.


Tickets are available online via links on Facebook and our website, and directly at www.trybooking.co.uk/BPGU and will also be available on the door. 


More details about the orchestra can be found at www.wymondhamsymphonyorchestra.org.uk or on our Facebook page.